Book Review -Jaz Parks Series

Book Series: Jaz Parks

Author: Jennifer Rardin

I recently finished my re-read of the entire Jaz Parks series by Jennifer Rardin and going back to that world felt like the first time. Isn’t that the best? When you re-read a series and it is still as good as the first time. I love books like that. Those are the ones that leave an impression. The ones you remember and recommend and push on other people.

The series is 8 books in total beginning with Once Bitten, Twice Shy and ending with The Deadliest Bite (if you click the link above, it will take you to the series page on the BN website. I tried to sort the page by the book order to help). Though the ending of the 8th book was satisfying from a wrapped up plot points perspective, the author sadly passed away either shortly before or shortly after the 8th book was published, so we will never know for sure if she intended more stories to her series.

Jaz is probably one of my favorite heroines I’ve read. She is smart and tough. Sassy and snarky. She is a fighter and a rebel.  Jaz is an assassin in the paranormal world and that means smoking vampires, werewolves, demons, and creatures straight out of Rardin’s imagination that would give me nightmares if I ever saw a picture of one.

Jaz endured many things throughout the series from the death of her fiancé and crew to going to Hell and everything in between. Rardin wrote Jaz as the kind of heroine a woman can look up to. Someone who is kind and loyal and kicks butt. Someone who takes no crap. She reminded me to fight for what I believe in no matter the odds. To fight for those I love even when I might not like them or them me.

My favorite book is probably the one where she meets her dog, Jack. Jack is the best character (besides Jaz) in this series. He is loyal, protective, funny, and Jaz swears he can understand her when she speaks to him.

Speaking of other characters besides the titular Jaz, she has a smoking hot vampire partner, a hilarious side-kick, a genius tech expert who invents amazing toys and tools for her missions, a twin who is a Special Ops soldier, and a psychic whose handbag is so mysterious it draws parallels to Hermoine’s beaded bag from Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

Rardin created a world for her series mirroring our own (with the additions of supernatural creatures being out in the open) and characters that feel like they could jump off the page and sit right next to you. Her characters are well developed and fit in nicely to the overall story. If you haven’t read Jennifer Rardin’s Jaz Parks series, I recommend you do so. If you have read it, check out the recommendations of my favorites in the same genre below.

Quick question: Are you tired of vampire stories? I am. I think we have played that species out for now, though I am sure they will come back in fashion again in the future.

If you like the Jaz Parks series, you might like:

The Kate Daniels series – Ilona Andrews

The Mercy Thompson series – Patricia Briggs

The Chicagoland Vampires series – Chloe Neill

The Charley Davidson series – Darynda Jones

The Night Huntress series – Jeaniene Frost

Leave a Reply

