Book Review – The Light Between the Oceans

Book: The Light Between the Oceans

Author: M.L. Stedman

Whew! This book was a heavy hitter. Emotion. Tension. Moral dilemmas. I felt so, so much with this book. It hurt at times to read this one. Stedman certainly put me through the emotional ringer and I felt depleted, exhausted, and shaken afterwards.

The story is about a couple in 1920s Australia. The husband is a lighthouse keeper and they (and only they) live on a small island off Australia’s western coast. When a baby washes to the shore of this little island, THINGS HAPPEN. By THINGS I mean, this story is so complicated it was like reading a telenovela.

This couple faced so many trials and difficulties. I felt for each of them. I felt for the wife’s parents. I felt for the baby. I felt for the other characters with which the couple interacted. All of them were put in impossible situations with unbearably difficult consequences regardless of the choice made. Talk about being between a rock and a hard place. Or no-win situations. This book was jam-packed with them. It felt like at every turn, every decision made was no-win for the person making it.

Conviction is a necessary thing to find for yourself to survive in this world. You have to stand for something; believe in something. My convictions might differ from those you hold. We probably express our views and opinions in different ways as well. It is part of what makes us so great as human kind. I have certain convictions I am passionate about spreading to everyone I meet and some I have never shared with anyone. You can say convincingly (either to yourself or the world) you believe something is wrong or right, but until you, yourself, are dropped directly into a specific situation you cannot actually know what you will do.

I am not a person who is particularly good at dealing in the gray areas of life. I mostly see things as black and white. Right and wrong. With this book, Stedman challenged me to think outside my bubble of comfort. At times I didn’t know who to root for. At times, I didn’t know who was the protagonist and who was the antagonist. It is rare for me to read a book and not be able to clearly pick out the good guy and the bad guy. The nuances of the characters in this book were so cleverly ambiguous in a way that left me confused and evolved when I put down the book.

Through the beginning and middle of the book, I felt strongly that I would do a certain thing if I was the wife in The Light Between the Oceans, but after reading the events as they unfolded toward the end of the book, I was less certain in my conviction that I was correct. Then I tried it with the husband (who is the main character) and the other characters as well, and ended up with the same results at the end of the book: I had no idea what I would do faced with the impossible choices they met.

That’s the thing about a book like The Light Between the Oceans, though. It challenges what you think and why you think it and pushes you to think through those situations in personal terms. This is the type of book that has the power to change your perceptions of the people around you, the people you encounter, and your worldview in general. You see differently after reading a book like this. And that is why I will recommend it.

If you liked The Light Between the Oceans, try:

All the Light We Cannot See

Orphan Train

Defending Jacob

Me Before You

The Kite Runner

Leave a Reply

