Book Review – My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry

Book: My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry

Author: Fredrick Backman

This review is subtitled: An Ode to the Bat Aka My Grandmother.

My grandmother is my absolute favorite person in the world. Sorry, mom (I know you found and read my blog). She is hilarious, unintentionally for the most part. She is caring and supportive. I still receive cards in the mail on a regular basis (sometimes with money in them!) from her. She drives like a bat out of H-E-double hockey sticks. I can’t imagine what my life will look like without her in it. But I suppose that is the prerogative of the grandchild.

When I was young, she told me a dragon lived in her basement and told my brother and I if we ever went down there, the dragon would eat us. She used to cut up apples and throw them (and Cheerios – always Cheerios) down the basement stairs saying, “Eat dragon and be gone! Don’t eat my grandchildren!” My brother and I found out later our uncle was living in her basement at the time and she didn’t want us to see anything little eyes shouldn’t see.

So, that is  my rambling wind-up to saying I LOVED this story. It is about an almost 8-year-old little girl named Elsa who is extraordinarily precocious.  Elsa is smart and mature for her age. She is best friends with her Granny who is an absolute RIOT. Granny smokes, drinks, plays pranks, gets up to mischief, and protects her granddaughter. My grandmother doesn’t smoke or drink, but she does play pranks, is generally mischievous and is protective of her grandchildren.

Being too smart and mature for her age, Elsa is bullied by the kids at school. Only Granny knows the truth and constructs an imaginary world for Elsa to escape her pain and bullies. She goes to her  imaginary world and there she is bold and brave and no one hurts her. Elsa is a knight and protects others in her imaginary world.

But when Granny dies (serious sob here), Elsa starts learning things about her Granny and the imaginary world she constructed. Granny sends her on a journey in the real world delivering messages of apologies to people she hurt in her life. Along the way, Elsa learns about who her Granny was and gains some friends along the way.

This story was precious and moving in a way I didn’t expect. I didn’t expect to like this story as well as I did. I connected with Elsa and her Granny in a surprising way. Her mother as well.

Some of the parts that made me laugh out loud:

  • When Elsa was sent to the headmaster’s office because a boy gave her a black eye, the headmaster told Granny Elsa provoked the boy who has trouble “controlling himself”. Granny threw something at the headmaster and said, “I WAS PROVOKED! I COULDN’T CONTROL MYSELF!”.
  • Muggles. Actually, all of the Harry Potter references. There were so many good ones.
  • The time Granny set off fireworks inside a restaurant and set a girl on fire.

My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry was heartfelt, poignant and funny. If you like a good story of a hilarious, brave, protective and imaginative woman, give this one a try.

If you liked My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry, you might like:

A Man Called Ove

Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

Guernsey Literary and Sweet Potatoe Pie Society

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

The Ocean and the End of the Lane

One thought on “Book Review – My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry

Leave a Reply

