Book Review – The Time Keeper

Book : The Time Keeper

Author: Mitch Albom

I’ve been reading books this summer, but not reviewing them. Why, asks you, my intrepid reader? Frankly, because most of them sucked and I don’t care to write so many negative reviews. For example, The Graces by Laure Eve was terrible (I am not even going to link you to it.). Interesting premise and back cover blurb, but flat out terrible story. The main character was sociopathic and completely unrelatable. Also, I’ve been reading a bunch of my guilty pleasure historical romance novels (or as my mother calls them: Bodacious Bodice Busters – DON’T JUDGE ME!) of which I was assured no one wants to read reviews. H and I have also been rereading (and re-watching) Harry Potter in preparation of our upcoming adventures at the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. This is serious business and we laid out a plan to read and watch all the books and movies before we leave. Those of you who have read the books (if you haven’t, you are seriously depriving yourself and need to read them ASAP) know that is not an easy undertaking in 8 weeks given the sheer size of the books and the general busyness of our lives. H and I are Potterheads and proud of it. As such, we like to pause to discuss and share thoughts and ideas on various HP topics, so HP is taking up my book reading time and mental capacity right now.

The Time Keeper was the first book I’ve read this summer I wanted to review. It was a short book (my copy clocked in at less than 230 pages), but it was a good one. My previous dealings with the works of Mitch Albom have been hit and miss. I loved Tuesdays with Morrie (who didn’t?), but wasn’t too crazy about The Five People You Meet in Heaven. I’ve read and liked a few of his other titles, but did not like any so much as Tuesdays with Morrie. So, skepticism was my dominant emotion when H selected this month’s book club pick.

As it turned out, this Mitch Albom novel was worth it. It was relevant and poignant and it resonated with the members of book club. Dor’s decision to run up the Tower to demand the gods heal his wife was believable and the consequences unimaginable. What grief-stricken person wouldn’t want the love of their life healed by whatever means necessary? BUT, being forced the stay in the cave for thousands of years without being driven mad? No way, Jose. I’d go crazy without reading material inside a month.

Without spoiling anything, we find out our main character, Dor, invented measuring time. I’ve never given much thought to the consequences of that discovery and how much time rules my life because that is the world’s norm. Then, I looked at my work calendar. It is color-coded and completely organized for each half-hour of my day. Each task is given a colored category and a time slot for which I must complete it. If I don’t schedule time to do everything, I would be completely lost and never meet deadlines. As another example, when I was reading The Time Keeper this past Saturday, H texted me and had to remind me to be at her house at a certain time. I forgot I had other obligations and places to be because I was so lost in the story. There were so many other examples I found when I gave it some thought

During book club discussion of the book, we discussed the quote regarding the difference between knowing something and understanding it. When the old man asks Dor why he began to measure time, Dor replied that he wanted to know. But the old man is right; there is a great difference between knowing and understanding. Dor did not understand the consequences for his quest for knowledge and all of human kind (most of all Dor) suffered. That’s powerful. And plain crazy to think about. Almost like contemplating the reason for our existence.

I liked the way Dor’s story aligned and intertwined with Vincent’s and Sarah’s stories. It was interesting to read from each of their POVs and read their reasoning for the things they did throughout the book. The way Dor’s fate wove together with Vincent’s and Sarah’s unique and fascinating. I recommend The Time Keeper to you. It’s a fast read and quite good.

What have you been reading this summer? Send me a comment with your favorite/worst read so far this summer.

If you liked The Time Keeper like I did, you should try:

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Just kidding! I have Harry Potter on the brain.

Here is your real “try this” list:

Tuesdays with Morrie

The Casual Vacancy

And the Mountains Echoed

The Light Between the Oceans

To Kill a Mockingbird

2 thoughts on “Book Review – The Time Keeper

  1. I hated two books I read this summer, and Maestra by Hilton was one. No redeemable characters. I disliked every single one. The other was Lily and the Octopus by Rowley. Didn’t like the characters or the whole premise of the book, but I did cry. (Spoiler…the dog bites it.) A book I did really enjoy was The Bear and the Nightengale by Katherine Arden. I read a lot of fantasy, but this one was based on Russian folklore. I know very little about Russian folklore, so I found this particularly interesting. Bear was the debut for this author. The sequel is coming in December (I’ve already pre-ordered it). Another author I discovered that I like is Paula Brackston. I read The Witches Daughter, and bought the sequel before even finishing it. If you liked Discovery of Witches, I would recommend you check out Brackston’s, The Witches Daughter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

